Mannofield v Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 2nd XI on Sun 02 Jun 2019 at 12:00
Gordonians Cricket Club Won by 56 runs

Match report Sunday 2nd June was scheduled as a reserved date for Aberdeenshire Cup Quarter-Final clash between Gordonians and Mannofield at the Mannofield ground. A revised start date of 12 noon was agreed by all parties and they were there, only to learn the start time was delayed by half an hour due to wet outfield and ongoing light drizzle. It was the right call as the cloud started to break up and condition started to improve! The game was reduced to 35 overs per side to ensure a full game can take place. Gordos skipper lost yet another toss and was asked to bat on a pitch which looked good, but it was learnt that the home team’s 1st XI were skittled for only 68 previous day on the same surface! Overcast conditions and couple of higher league junior reps from home team meant that the Gordos opening pair Indy and MK had challenging task ahead of them. It proved right when Gordos found it difficult to get the scoreboard going. MK, who is usually known for his quick starts, had to adapt to the condition and he batted very sensibly and negotiated well with the moving ball. First wicket fell after a 50 runs partnership when MK was bowled by ex-Gordos player Lewis Cameron. Next man Taj came in to join Indy in the middle and he looked in control from the first ball. Taj batted freely and played some glorious shots and soon overtook Indy’s score in the process. Indy and Taj had a solid 57 runs partnership between them during which run rate accelerated and both batters looked in control. Taj’s knock of 33 came to an end when he was caught in the deep off P Srinivasan, who bowled well for Mannofield. With less than 14 overs to go, Gordos changed the batting line-up and brought Boom-Boom Bocha AKA Amith to boost the run rate. He scored almost a run-a-ball entertaining 11 before getting bowled by S Khalid. Chamila was next man in and started connecting well. He supported Indy by running well between the wickets and giving him as much strike as possible. Indy was playing his shots now and scored at a good rate but one too many shots meant he holed out in the long on when tried to clear the boundary against the wind - out for 56! Next couple of dismissals were run outs which could have been avoided, but it showed Gordos batsmen batted with purpose and tried their level best to elevate the score as close to magic mark of 200 as possible. They didn’t manage to reach that target but closed it on 194 for 8 in their allotted 35 overs!

After a nice tea, Gordos players strolled onto the ground to defend the total. Gordos knew Mannofield openers I Yathagouda and R Chandu were the prized wickets they have to take early on if they want to be on the winning side! Gordos opened with their usual pair of Jamil and Chamila and they both bowled well but without much luck. Indika was dropped twice within first 4 overs while he was trying to clear the in-field. However, his luck ran out 3rd time when he skied one at mid-off, the most difficult one of the three chances given, but it landed in safe hands of MK. Chandu retired hurt himself citing a groin niggle which he didn’t want to risk for this game and didn’t come back to bat. Next batsman L Munro struggled to pierce the in-field but didn’t lose his shape. He found a good partner on the other end N Elliott who looked to be in good touch and made full use of the poor deliveries whenever they were offered! First change bowlers Mathi and Taj bowled well in a tandem and it was experienced Mathi who brought the next wicket by bowling one of the perfect Yorkers to Munro! With the required run rate creeping at an alarming rate and boundaries hard to come by due to slowish outfield, Mannofield batters pushed hard for the 1s and 2s! There were 2 well executed run outs in the next phase of the game which sent back S Khalid and J Horne, both of whom looked good during their stay at the crease. N Elliott found a good ally in next batsman P Srinivasan and kept the scoreboard ticking along but when he fell for his enterprising 22, it became an extremely difficult task for Srinivasan to keep up with the asking rate! Gordos slow bowlers MK and Rajnessh bowled well with Rajneesh picking up the wicket of experienced Chandana, one of the last remaining recognized batsman. Gordos opening pair of Chamila and Jamil came back for their return spell to sweep things up and they bagged 4 wickets in as many overs to close things off, including the one of Srinivasan's who scored a fine 37, in the final over with scoreboard reading 138!

It was a comprehensive win in which all batsmen chipped in and the bowlers were mostly disciplined! Fielding and catching was a mixed bag, but thankfully the mishaps didn’t cost us heavily. Gordos now have progressed to semi-finals but yet to find out their opponent which will be either AGSFP or Cults.

Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 2nd XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
1nb 23w 1b 8lb 
for 8 wickets
Indy Pandit ct I Yathagouda 56 72 5 77.78 1
Mohit Khosla b L Cameron 20 35 1 57.14 1
Tajinder Singh ct P Srinivasan 33 41 4 80.49
Amith Gowda b S Khalid 11 12 1 91.67
Chamila N Perera Run out  19 20 95.00 1 2
Rajneesh Rattan Run out  2 3 66.67
Jamil Shaikh ct N Elliott 12 19 63.16
Mathivathanan Zz_Suthanthiran Not Out  8 6 133.33
Kiran Zz_Kolavennu b N Elliott 0 1 0 1
Andrew Murray Not Out  0 1 0
Aatish Das  

Mannofield Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
N Elliott7.0029214.504.14
L Munro7.003400.004.86
P Srinivasan7.0027127.003.86
L Cameron5.0037137.007.40
I Yathagouda6.0042142.007.00
S Khalid3.0016116.005.33

Mannofield Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
3nb 17w 1b 2lb 
for 9 wickets
138 (34.3 overs)
I Yathagouda ct Chamila 12
R Chandu Retired Not Out  2
L Munro b Mathi 10
S Khalid Run out  2
N Elliott ct Mathi 22
J Horne Run out  7
C Alawattage ct Rajneesh 13
P Srinivasan ct Jamil 37
L Cameron b Jamil 9
A Range b Jamil 1
Unknown Not Out  0

Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 2nd XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Jamil Shaikh6.301735.672.62
Chamila N Perera7.0124124.003.43
Mathivathanan Zz_Suthanthiran7.0023211.503.29
Tajinder Singh5.002000.004.00
Mohit Khosla5.002100.004.20
Amith Gowda1.001200.0012.00
Rajneesh Rattan3.0017117.005.67

  • Umpire :
    George Chappell & Kishor Selokar
  • Scorer :