Arbroath United v Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 1st XI on Sat 01 Jun 2019 at 13.00
Gordonians Cricket Club Won by 174 runs

Match report A glorious day greeted Gordonians as they arrived in Arbroath. Arbroath won the toss and from there it went downhill for them. They invited Gordonians to bat and Brewer and Burnett kept it tight but without looking like they were going to make a breakthrough. The bowlers weren't helped by a distinctly below par fielding effort by the home side. The first wicket eventually fell in the 16th over with the score on 69, Arora not at his fluent best, lbw to Burnett for 19. Ryan Plomer struggled with his length when he started his first over, but ball number 5 was pitched up and took Adi Hegde by surprise as it found a way through his defence. Himanshu joined Abrar at the crease and they proceeded to add 132 to take the score to 210. Abrar had shown great determination to make it to 100 off 110 balls and retired out. Himanshu was running out of time if he wanted to make it to 3 figures and went on full scale attack, smacking Ross for a 4 and a 6, and then giving it a bit of a charge to be stumped for 86. 237 for 5 quickly became 245 all out as Gordonians lost their batting composure, although Sree was a bit unlucky when Burnett produced a fine catch to send him back to the pavilion.
In terms of teas, Gordonians have been rivalling the famous Arbroath tea, putting quality ahead of variety, but Arbroath raised the bar with even more variety and exceptional quality. The quality of the tea deserves a lengthy paragraph, and rarely has a side of salmon been seen at any SPCU ground, not that it was in evidence for very long!
When the cricket resumed Saraswat started with wicket maiden and Bhalani would have done the same if it hadn't been for a couple of wides. Plomer and Cameron were the early victims, but the partnership between the incoming Plomer and Cameron took the score to 22 before Saraswat and Bhalani removed them, although sandwiched between those were a further 2 wickets as Pranav Saravanan spun a double wicket maiden. Not a bad start to his SPCU bowling career! 22 for 6 in the 14th over and it was time for young Sourav Singh to turn his arm over. He took a caught and bowled in his first over and finished with 3 for 26 (of which 9 were wides), one of which was a very smart leg side stumping by Sree. Parkar only got to bowl 2 balls as he closed up the Arbroath innings for 71.
This was a comprehensive win, and although Gordonians were not at their dominant best with the bat, they showed a level of application that is necessary if you want to stay at the top of the league. The bowlers were well backed up in the field, Bhalani producing an exceptional piece of ground fielding to support the young attack, and Gordonians remain alphabetically top of the league.

Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
19w 3b 4lb 
for 10 wickets

(44.5 overs)
Abrar (AB) Ahmed Retired Out  100 147 110 12 90.91 1
Aman Arora lbw J Burnett 19 54 48 39.58
Adi Hegde b R Plomer 2 6 6 33.33
Himanshu Saraswat ct C Ross 86 101 83 9 1 103.61 1
Swapnil Rane ct R Plomer 0 3 3 0
Pranav Saravanan Run out  7 14 50.0 1
Mayank S Bhandari ct A Brewer 1 4 3 33.33
Sree Devadas ct C Ross 3 5 2 150.0 1
Harshad Parkar Run out  0 1
Jay Bhalani Not Out  1 1 1 100
Sourav Singh b C Ross 0 1 1 0 1

Arbroath United Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
A Brewer7.0128128.004.00
J Burnett9.0032132.003.56
R Cameron2.001800.009.00
R Plomer9.0042221.004.67
C Robb9.005800.006.44
C Ross8.5060320.006.79

Arbroath United Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
15w 1b 2lb 
for 10 wickets
71 (24.2 overs)
J Plomer b Saraswat 0
R Cameron b Bhalani 0
R Plomer ct Bhalani 7
C Cameron ct Saraswat 10
C Robb ct Saravanan 0
A Brewer lbw Saravanan 0
J Burnett ct Singh 8
C Ross Not Out  12
M Salmond st Singh 7
M McColl b Singh 0
A Hogg b Parkar 9

Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Himanshu Saraswat7.03824.001.14
Jay Bhalani5.011427.002.80
Pranav Saravanan4.01824.002.00
Sourav Singh5.002638.675.20
Adi Hegde3.001100.003.67
Harshad Parkar0.20111.003.00