Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 2nd XI v Aberdeen Super Kings on Sun 27 May 2018 at 13.00
Gordonians Cricket Club Won by 108 runs

Match report The first round of Bon Accord cup campaign had promises to be a tough game for Gordonians as they were warned of some 20/20 specialists playing for ASK on the day! Game was on turf pitch of Counteswells which looked like a road. Gordos skipper Indy won the toss and decided to bat first. Mk and AB opened the innings and their partnership lasted for 10 overs! If Adam Sandler ever wanted to make another Happy Gilmore but based on Cricket, the first 10 overs of Gordos innings had all the ingredients for it. Mk's newly refurbished turbo-knee outran AB in many occasions. Boundaries were not easy to come but they did at a good intervals, however the running between the wicket was impressive and flow of runs never stopped. Gordos going at almost 10 runs per over! Mk was bowled after his hardworking 21 which brought Indy to the crease. He was not going to hang around and started swinging his bat from first ball which didn't prove very useful. AB was bowled in 12th over after a blazing 81 by A.Bashir who was ASK's pick of the bowler. In comes Swapnil, the Gordos stalwart superstar, who calmed things down in typical fashion including Indy's head. These two have batted together in many occasions and knew each other's game well and that showed in the second half of the inning. 1s were converted to 2s and 2s to 3s! Odd boundaries came by but it was the running that ticked the scoreboard along. Gordos didn't lift thier foot off the pedal till the last ball and ended up with 208 in 20 overs, a very competitive score at this ground.
After a quick drinks break Gordos went out to defend their 208 against a batting line up that comprised of some 20/20 specialist! Young Pranav opened the bowling and got his rhythm right from ball one. He flighted, drifted, spun and what not to bamboozle ASK top order for amazing spell of 4 overs with 2 for 9! At the other end Chamila, nicknamed 'Rajesh' after legendary bollywood actor Rajesh Khanna for his legendary moves, went on about his business as usual. His inswingers were on target at a good pace which prized him with 3 wickets in his 4 overs spell. Half of the ASK batters back in the hut within 7 overs which broke the back of the run chase. After this it was more of survival which gave opportunity to several Gordos players to round their arms. However Mk had some other plans for the evening which he denied to share with rest of us and started picking wickets quickly! He bowled like a pro with great control and rarely gave anything away and took 3 wickets in just 3 overs including two bowled! ASK's last wicket fell in a run out just 2 ball short of close of innings. Another convincing win for Gordos which takes them to next round of this cup competition where they meet Ellon.
It was a total team effort but AB's innings of 81 stood apart from the rest and deservedly bags the MoM award, well done!

Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 2nd XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
18w 2b 3lb 
for 2 wickets
Mohit Khosla b A.Bashir 21 23 2 91.30
Abrar (AB) Ahmed b A.Bashir 81 42 13 2 192.86
Indy Pandit Not Out  53 33 3 2 160.61
Swapnil Rane Not Out  30 22 2 1 136.36
Mathivathanan Suthanthiran  
Amith Gowda  
Chamila N Perera  
Stuart Dalgarno  
Pranav Saravanan  
Alex Hounsome  
Viraj Ramaiya  

Aberdeen Super Kings Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy

Aberdeen Super Kings Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
7w 4b 3lb 
for 10 wickets
86 (19.4 overs)
M.Thapa b Chamila 4
W.D'Souza b Chamila 5
A.Bashir b Mathi 14
Z.Rabbani ct Pranav 1
C.Aggarwal b Chamila 1
Z.Mohammed b Pranav 1
R.Mantha ct Mohit 33
T.Dureja b Mohit 15
J.Cresswell b Mohit 0
Michael Run out  6
D.Fernandez Not Out  7

Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 2nd XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Pranav Saravanan4.00924.502.25
Chamila N Perera4.001635.334.00
Mathivathanan Suthanthiran3.0019119.006.33
Alex Hounsome2.002500.0012.50
Mohit Khosla3.001133.673.67
Stuart Dalgarno2.00800.004.00
Viraj Ramaiya1.00600.006.00
Amith Gowda0.40100.001.50