Mannofield v Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 1st XI on Tue 05 Jun 2018 at 18.00
Gordonians Cricket Club Won by 104 runs

Match report Mannofield never seem comfortable with the 3 Counties Cup, in part as the rules of the competition make their team selection rather difficult. With a lot of familiar faces missing, this had a ring of men against boys as ASI Gordonians won the toss and elected to bat on a flat pitch. The opening over from Finlay Anderson was treated with respect by Abrar and Aman with only 2 singles being taken, but from there it was downhill for the home bowling attack. Nathan Elliott overstepped the crease twice in his over, Arora taking advantage of the free hit to deposit the ball through a green house over the wall. The impact of the glass damaged the pink ball, begging the question as to why someone would put up a green house so close to a cricket ground.
With the score on 41 Arora fiddled at a ball outside off from Michael Elliott and was caught behind for 16. Abrar was next to go at the end of the 9th over for a quick 51 off only 31 balls, but this was an innings of craft rather than brawn from an in form player. Swapnil was run out for 2 and this allowed Himanshu and Mayank to bat out an 88 run partnership to take the total to 188 for 3. Himanshu only had 3 boundaries in his 52, a sign that he was struggling to time the ball on a fairly slow deck. Mayank needed a boundary off the last ball of the innings for his 50, but had to settle for a 2, some blistering shots in his 48 off 26 balls. For Mannofield, Joseph Horne bowled well, but everyone else got a bit of hammer, or should have had worse figures if the bad balls had been dealt with. The score could have been over 200 but for some energetic fielding from the home youngsters.
The writing was on the wall for Mannofield as Perera opened with a wicket maiden. Bhalani removed Lewis Munro for a duck to an unusually loose shot, and Clark Cameron gave a bit of support to home skipper Musgrave as they got some runs on the board. Musgrave has it all in technical terms, and smacked Bhalani for a 6 and two 4's, but he has been short on runs of late and the introduction of Daniel Sutton saw him bowled for 27. Perera had removed Cameron and finished with 4 overs, 2 maidens, 2 for 10, not bad in any form of cricket. He was to be outdone by Sutton who varied his pace and took 3 for 5 off his 4 overs. Arya Pol had just arrived from Mumbai and was finding the Mannofield sunshine a bit on the cold side as he struggled to find his length. He did produce some tantalising signs of hard to play leg spin, and when he had Haddon caught for 10 it was game over. Nathan Elliott and Joseph Horne scored freely off some wayward bowling at the end of the innings, the chill having an effect on the slow bowlers. They took it from 53 for 9 to 84 off the 20 overs but the margin of victory reflected the gulf between the sides.

Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
2nb 8w 9b  
for 3 wickets

(20.0 overs)
Abrar (AB) Ahmed b M Elliott 51 41 31 7 164.52
Aman Arora ct M Elliott 16 21 15 1 106.67
Himanshu Saraswat Not Out  52 60 45 1 2 115.56 1
Swapnil Rane Run out  2 9 5 40.0
Mayank S Bhandari Not Out  48 29 26 4 1 184.62 1
Arya Pol  
Kaleem Imran   1
Indy Pandit   1
Daniel Sutton   1
Jay Bhalani   1
Chamila N Perera  

Mannofield Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
F Anderson4.003600.009.00
N Elliott1.001900.0019.00
J Haddon4.003700.009.25
M Elliott3.0027213.509.00
J Horne4.003000.007.50
T Mills4.003000.007.50

Mannofield Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 9 wickets
84 (20.0 overs)
A Hastie b Perera 0 1 5 0
L Munro ct Bhalani 0 6 3 0
J Musgrave b Sutton 27 29 18 5 1 150.0
C Cameron ct Perera 2 13 12 16.67
J Haddon ct Pol 10 27 18 1 55.56
T Mills ct Sutton 3 5 6 50.0
S Elliott b Sutton 2 7 11 18.18
N Elliott Not Out  19 27 24 2 79.17
M Elliott Run out  1 5 3 33.33
F Anderson st Pandit 1 6 5 20.0
J Horne Not Out  16 13 15 2 106.67

Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Chamila N Perera4.021025.002.50
Jay Bhalani2.0019119.009.50
Himanshu Saraswat1.00600.006.00
Daniel Sutton4.00531.671.25
Arya Pol4.0012112.003.00
Indy Pandit3.0019119.006.33
Swapnil Rane2.001300.006.50

  • Umpire :
    Steve Murphy
  • Scorer :