Meigle v Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 1st XI on Sun 17 Jul 2016 at 15.45
Gordonians Cricket Club Won by 7 wickets

Match report Having batted first every time he had won the toss this season, Captain Rane won the toss for the 3rd time of the weekend, and put Meigle in. The decision brought an instant reward as change opening bowler Chamila had Neave caught by Krutik at mid wicket off a leading edge to the first ball he faced, being the second of the innings. Rane opened the bowling at the other end and turned the screw by only conceding 1 off his over. Clark and Duff were struggling to get going and the score had only moved to 12 off 4 overs. The stranglehold continued as Duff fell in exactly the same fashion as Neave for 9 off 20 balls, the score moving to 18 for 2 off 6 overs. In 2 previous innings against Gordonians this season Matthew Farmer had failed to score and only faced 3 balls, but he remained the prize wicket. He smacked a slower ball from Chamila for 6 back over his head, over the tree and in to the field, a huge hit, followed by Chamila clean bowling him next ball, the last of his 4 over spell. His figures of 3 for 17, allied to the measly 7 conceded by Rane in his first 3 overs, had put Gordonians firmly in command. Wimberley had been instrumental in taking Meigle to victory in their semi final against Forthill, but he was bowled by Jones 2nd ball, the screw turning even tighter. Thorne and Drummond began a bit of a recovery, but it was singles rather than boundaries, before Arora bowled Thorne for 15. Drummond then dominated the remainder of the innings, playing a wide variety of classy strokes as he dragged the score up to 106 off the 20 overs. His unbeaten 40 only had 1 boundary but numerous well run 2's, and brought up an undefeated century for him against Gordonians over the weekend, not to mention his unbeaten 34 at Countesswells earlier in the season. All the Gordonians bowlers kept it tight and Rane only went for 12 off his 4 overs.
Dyson had slaughtered Strathmore in the semi final but he was smartly stumped by Drummond for a duck 3rd ball and Meigle must have sensed they had a chance. Arora and KP batted sensibly and put on 43 before Arora fell for 21 in the 9th over. Himanshu was bowled by Clark at the end of the next over, the score up to 46 for 3 off 10 overs. Meigle then rotated their bowlers searching for a weakness in the batting of KP and Hamza, but they failed to do any damage as controlled and patient stroke play took Gordonians to victory with 9 balls to spare. Hamza was 28 not out and Krutik finished unbeaten on 41 picking up the man of the match award, narrowly edging out Chamila and Swapnil who had bowled so effectively at the start of the final. Having taken over 50 years to win the 3 Counties Cup again, Swapnil had now taken the team to back to back wins. The presentation was made with a replacement trophy, Swapnil having left the actual trophy at home, perhaps the biggest incentive one could have for retaining the Cup!

Meigle Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
12w 3b 2lb 
for 6 wickets
106 (20.0 overs)
C Clark b  Arora 14 40 21 66.67
A Neave ct  Perera 0 1 1 0
T Duff ct  Perera 9 12 20 45.00
M Farmer b  Perera 7 8 12 1 58.33
N Wimberly b  Jones 1 2 2 50.0
R Thorne b  Arora 15 30 23 1 65.22
P Drummond Not Out  40 32 32 1 125.00
R McDonald Not Out  4 15 10 40.0
I Stewart  
D Christie  
M Scott  

Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Chamila N Perera4.001735.674.25
Swapnil Rane4.001200.003.00
Marc Jones2.0014114.007.00
Himanshu Saraswat3.001700.005.67
Aman Arora4.001728.504.25
Krutik Patel3.002400.008.00

Gordonians Cricket Club Gordonians 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
10w 3b 1lb 
for 3 wickets

(18.3 overs)
Adam Dyson st  Scott 0 1 3 0
Aman Arora ct  Neave 21 26 20 1 105.00
Krutik Patel Not Out  41 66 51 2 80.39 2
Himanshu Saraswat b  Clark 2 5 6 33.33
Hamza Arshad Not Out  28 34 28 2 100
Marc Jones  
Jason Stark  
Chris A R Forbes  
Chamila N Perera  
Mayank S Bhandari  
Swapnil Rane  

Meigle Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
M Scott4.0019119.004.75
R Thorne3.002100.007.00
M Farmer3.301800.005.14
A Neave3.0015115.005.00
C Clark2.00616.003.00
I Stewart2.002000.0010.00
R McDonald1.00400.004.00